Corky lives!

As June rapidly passes into history, I managed to finish my sole entry into the Forgotten Heroes Challenge run by Jez over at Carrion Crow’s Buffet.  My two previous posts here and here give more details.

After a couple of sessions subtracting and adding details off the host model, I was ready to paint. I prime with a medium grey usually, and did this time as well. I based the coverall with dead flesh. A 50/50 mix of ivory and dead flesh was highlighted with pure ivory. In the pics i have, Corky is disheveled and dirty. So, a heavy wash of strong tone was further dirtied up with a watered down brown ink. I spot dirtied the front, something I’m not entirely happy with yet. I might revisit the coverall.

A couple browns were used for his shoes and rifle. Oily steel was used for the metal parts of the rifle and the wrench. All metal was black washed and then a slight highlight of oily steel was applied. The rag was painted with gory red and then washed with strong tone and black wash.

His beard was painted black, then washed with a watery basic skin tone. The flesh was basic skin tone washed with diluted brown ink, then highlighted with the base color.

The cap was painted the same as the coverall, with a black brim. I went much lighter on washes here, leaving it brighter.

And here he is:

20200629_195832

Seeing this pic up close, the base needs touched up before i flock it.

Here he is with his two buddies”

20200629_200110-1

I must have changed a setting on my phone, because all the pics i have taken lately look like crap when i crop them. Still hunting an inexpensive digital camera with a good macro.

Just under the deadline, i managed to finish another model with some modeling changes. It really is a challenge for me, as I have mentioned, since I don’t feel comfortable with green stuff. Corky turned out well, I think. And is a good addition to my Pulp figs.

I also finished another 6 militia models for my WFB Empire army. Here are a couple pics, one of the new six, the other is a group shot of the entire mob so far.

And June ends up short. I had planned to paint another 8 spears for the Empire as well, but those languish with only two colors applied, and I think I’m going to hold off versus rushing to complete them in the hour or two I will be able to spare before July gets here.

Most everyone in the FH Challenge pulled off some really cool conversions and sculpts. You need to check them out.

Jez’s Fourth Doctor at Carrion Crow’s Buffet here

Roger’s Battle Cat and Panthor at Rantings from Under a Wargames Table here

Dave at Wargames Terrain Workshop is creating a whole team of cool minis here

Wampley at Wampley’s Castle is doing Vanguard here

Alan has an A to Z of Forgotten Heroes here

July brings a whole new challenge. Dave at Wargames Terrain Workshop has thrown down the gauntlet for terrain building. This challenge lasts July and August and seems like a good chance to finish the windmill I started this month. If summer and the Big C has you down, join up and get busy with foam core, XPS and balsa! Check out the challenge here.

That’s it for this update. Thanks for stopping by!

BG

11 thoughts on “Corky lives!

  1. Dave Stone June 30, 2020 / 2:15 am

    Excellent work on Corky Harry, all came together brilliantly. The work on your Empire troops is looking awesome too.
    Thank’s for the highlight of the challenge, hopefully we can all get some of our scenery projects finished

    Liked by 1 person

  2. borderguy190 June 30, 2020 / 2:25 am

    Thanks Dave! Challenges seem to inspire us. I’m looking forward to seeing lots of cool projects.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carrion Crow June 30, 2020 / 5:02 am

    Nicely done, Harry. A good effort, bearing in mind that you started late due to waiting for the figure to arrive.

    Glad you enjoyed taking part again this year. Now comes the planning for next year… 😁

    And whilst I DO have the Fourth Doctor in the ‘Tray of Shame’, it’s the Eighth Doctor who was finished off last night. Gets a bit confusing with all these incarnations…

    Liked by 1 person

    • borderguy190 June 30, 2020 / 5:28 am

      Cool! You’ll have them all Jez!.

      And thanks, its a great challenge and lots of fun. I have and idea or 3 for next year, and I think I will start the mini search early.

      Like

      • Carrion Crow June 30, 2020 / 5:43 am

        Always good to be prepared for this challenge.

        And whilst there are 14 official incarnations of the Doctor, I am missing 3 of them, so not *quite* got a full set yet.

        Liked by 1 person

      • borderguy190 June 30, 2020 / 6:13 am

        3 is closer to the end than the beginning!

        Like

  4. rantingsfromunder June 30, 2020 / 5:02 am

    I think he came out really well and you even managed to get some other troops beautifully finished as well! I’d call that a win all round. The great test for any conversion work is that it don’t look like conversions, and “Corky” along with your other too “TofTGM” figures don’t.

    Best of luck with this latest challenge.

    Cheers Roger.

    Liked by 1 person

    • borderguy190 June 30, 2020 / 5:30 am

      Thanks Roger. That’s a good test for conversions. Never thought of that. Corky even seems to be a hit on TMP. I rarely get comments there, but a couple people liked him.

      Like

  5. Mut June 30, 2020 / 2:44 pm

    Great job on the conversion and the painting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment