The Wild West begins

At two different conventions I’ve been able to play in Wild West games. Both were cinematic masterpieces of death and carnage at 28mm. The model count was low, the dice were hot, and I was hooked. after the second experience I headed to a dealer table and bought Great Escape Games’  Dead Man’s Hand rules. The basic rules, The Legend of Dead Man’s Hand (campaign and new gangs) plus The Curse of Dead Man’s Hand (horror west, plus more gangs). At the next convention I picked up a couple of gangs. They only lasted 18  months in the paint pile, which might be a record. Well, the first gang did.

I’ve scratch built a couple of western USA buildings in preparation for gaming. all of them languish in an unpainted state. Last week I built two more buildings. I used two different materials for sheathing the buildings. One was a sheet of plastic molded to look like rubble stone construction. I bought that last year at Fall In! but i can’t remember who from. The other was basswood sheet milled to represent clapboard siding. That was from Northeastern Scale Lumber Co., and I love it. I’ll be ordering more. The 1/8 and 3/16 look great. The 1/8 is much too big for my taste, though I might use in on the sides of buildings designed to go side by side, just to use it up.

The results:

This last pair of pics is one of the first batch of buildings using balsa scribed with a board pattern.

Building #1 will be some office or store with an apartment upstairs. #2 will be a bank/assay office for the over-eager bad guy. The last will be a small shop/store.

I also painted the Law gang. Led by U.S. Marshall Matt Buford, the law has shown up in Davis County to put a stop to the open war between the mining tyrant, the powerful ranchers, and the desperadoes willing to trade shots with anyone.

The desperadoes are cleaned and waiting for bases and primer before getting the same treatment. Hats all in black of course.

Once this project gets a little further along I will do another, longer article with them all together. DMH is a fun, cinematic game where anything goes. Want to jump from roof to roof? Or crash through a window to surprise the bad guy? Go ahead and do it. Draw a steely-eyed bead and pull the trigger. And hope for the best.

Along with the Law, I finally finished another 8 empire spears for WFB.

20200717_201321-1

16 to go… this unit seems never ending.

And i have.t forgotten about Dave’s terrain challenge here. This is a first look at the paint so far on the windmill.

I have black washed it, and added some green ink in spots. Next up is to drybrush the stone again, then paint the main body. And build the mill head and vanes. And paint those. Lots to do and more than two weeks gone.

 

That’s it for now. Back to the grind of brush and scalpel. Hobbying without end!

 

BG out

19 thoughts on “The Wild West begins

  1. Dave Stone July 18, 2020 / 4:11 am

    Your wild west buildings look excellent Harry, and great use of multiple mediums to achieve the effect.
    Great painting on your wild west figures and empire troops.
    The stonework on your windmill is off to a flying start, if you want to add more variation to the stones you could basecoat a couple brown, I find Mournfang Brown good for this, before drybrushing grey, adds a subtle undertone.

    Liked by 3 people

    • borderguy190 July 18, 2020 / 10:19 am

      There are a couple in brown, blue, and a yellowish color. Must be on another side. Or I drybrushed too much and covered it up. 🙂 Thank you for the film. I’m always up for help.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. rantingsfromunder July 18, 2020 / 5:27 am

    I love those wild west buildings, they will look brilliant once finished! (they look good now!)

    Good work on the figures too, that empire unit is what you call an on going project isn’t it 😁.

    Cheers Roger.

    Liked by 4 people

    • borderguy190 July 18, 2020 / 10:23 am

      Yes, Roger, it is. The plan is to have 48 models in the unit. No way im sacrificing my sanity and painting them all at once!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. angrypiper July 18, 2020 / 12:03 pm

    OK, Harry…you went and did it. I’ve been putting off a Wild West project for years, and now I may have to rethink my terrain building for Dave’s challenge, because your stuff is damn impressive! I don’t think I have the patience to scratch-build buildings like you have done here, but I do have an ERTL Cow Town that needs painting and weathering, as well as a couple of Knuckleduster MDF kits. I have a lot of Old West miniatures painted already, but I need some terrain for them to shoot each other in!
    What do you think of Dead Man’s Hand? I have the basic rules for Blackwater Gulch, Desperado and Gutshot, but I’m leaning towards GWs Legends of the Old West.

    Liked by 3 people

    • borderguy190 July 18, 2020 / 12:13 pm

      Get to paintin’ then pardner!

      I like DMH. Pretty simple. Movement is “can you reach in 10cm? Then you can do it.” Simple mods to shooting. I think once I start playing more the rules will kinda disappear. The cards are both cool, and annoying. I don’t like stuff on the table, and the cards are laid next to models for initiative. Annoying. But they are also used for cool effects and bonuses that thrown in the movie wizardry or ultimate luck.

      Overall, i like them. I kinda want to check out Gunfighter’ Ball. I heard good things about it from another player at the last con i went to.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Carrion Crow July 20, 2020 / 6:36 am

    Good progress on all, Harry. Whilst the Wild West is tempting (and I have used my rules to run a couple of test games set in this genre) I now no longer have the cowboys, as they were the subject of a clear-out. And didn’t have any buildings at the time either. It’s a cool genre, but I probably don’t need another project…

    Liked by 2 people

    • borderguy190 July 20, 2020 / 11:35 am

      I didn’t either, Jez, I didn’t either…

      But, with the low model count I convinced myself it was a project I could start and finish relatively quickly. I have around 6 scratchbulit buildings plus two in the post. Once I finish the Desperados I’m ready for a game.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carrion Crow July 20, 2020 / 5:41 pm

        I kept meaning to write up the slimmed down version of my rules, specifically designed for the Wild West, so whilst I may not get involved in playing cowboys ‘n’ injuns, I may type this up and send them over, so you see if they work for you. Guaranteed no table clutter, because status markers on the table annoy me. I’ll let you know when they’re done.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Carrion Crow July 20, 2020 / 5:42 pm

        Of course, I’ll have to come up with a suitably Western-sounding name for them… which might be the hardest part.

        Liked by 2 people

  5. borderguy190 July 20, 2020 / 5:47 pm

    I really, really, hate table clutter. I understand the cards in DMH, and may come up with a way to have them in front of the play versus on the table.

    Id love to check them out. And good luck with a name. 3:15 to Manchester? A play on a western title with Old Blighty added in?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment