From pants to overalls

The main gist of this post is a little progress on my entry in Forgotten Heroes 2020. With model in hand, and a couple pics off the internet, i looked over the fig and decided what had to be done.

The hat was too weird, and he was wearing overalls with suspenders versus coveralls. First order of business was cutting and carving. I carved off the front pockets and the top edge of the overalls, plus the suspenders on the back. I did some shaping/smoothing with a tapered dremel bit, then smoothed it more with needle files and sanding sticks. I left if for a couple days and when i came back to it i had another session with files and sanders.  The pic below is before the second session. You can still see the top of the overalls under the collar. I also cut off the toolbox and opened his hand to hold a rifle. A Lee-Enfield MkIV, to be exact. Luckily I have a box of warlord British infantry that has plenty of spares.

20200622_182231-1

Once everything was off, it was time to add detail back.

I have a love-hate relationship with green stuff. I have made fur cloaks, replacement animal tails, and even covered seams.  I added the flop to Jake’s flight cap in the 2018 FH challenge. I turned a couple iron golem models into vaguely ogreish models. But i struggle o use it well. After a conversation with Roger over at Rantings about sculpting wit hgreen stuff, i realized i have the same tools he does. A couple messages back and forth and i was ready to try again.

The cap was easiest. A little blob an top and with a shaper i pushed it around, and por fin, smooth green stuff!  Happy day!  The a couple thin SausagesTM along the front to build up the open collar. Using the same shaper i smoothed and shaped the gs into a long opening like in the pic from last week.  Once i was satisfied i checked it against the pic and realized there is a triangular flap on the right side. I added a tiny ball of gs and shaped that into a triangle. I had my phone propped up next to my cutting amt and kept referring to the source. I remembered Jez asked about the beard, so a little more gs and i picked and prodded it into a bit of beard. Longer than the pics i have, but hey, he hasn’t shaved this week. Exaggerated detail helps it pop, right? I ended up with this:

20200623_124119-1

And a closer look at the cap

20200623_124132-1

The little guy is resting after yesterday’s manhandling. They don’t like manhandling see, I learned that from Night at the Museum. Jedediah hated it.

I’ll wash and paint him this week, just in time to add my humble offering to the pile of awesomeness that is Forgotten Heroes.

Besides Corky, I’ve been at my Empire models as well. I’ve finished 9 militia, a cannon and crew, an 8-man detachment of handgunners and nearly completed 6 more militia. I primed 8 more spears for my big Middenheim block and hope to have those knocked out as well. Some quick pics below.

I also started a terrain piece. After watching a video where Bard’s Craft built an old windmill, I’ve wanted to make my own. With the Big V shutting everything down though, I couldn’t get the core I wanted for the base. Now that Michigan is somewhat open I got the box I wanted and started work. I’ll do another article later about this model, but here are a couple pics.

20200616_203541-1

I like making terrain more than i like painting, so i have to be careful not to burn al my free time in terrain builds. But I’m happy so far on this on.

 

That’s it for this week. I’ll see you next week with a complete Corky!

BG out

 

 

13 thoughts on “From pants to overalls

  1. Dave Stone June 23, 2020 / 5:46 pm

    Your forgotten heroes entry is progressing very well Harry, and lot’s of great looking empire troops as well.
    Your windmill is excellent, and I’m running a scenery challenge over July/August if that fits into your schedule to get it finished

    Liked by 1 person

    • borderguy190 June 23, 2020 / 8:24 pm

      Thanks Dave. In hoping once its primed it will look better. I’m going to work mire on it if it doesn’t. And another challenge would be just the boost I need to finish the windmill. I’m in.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rantingsfromunder June 24, 2020 / 4:51 am

    Corky is coming on a treat Harry, glad my advice was of some little help, you have learned well Padwan 😁

    Belief is half the battle with GS.

    You have been pretty productive all round mate, those Empire figs look rather tidy too.

    And (as usual) Dave has been more efficient than me as I was going to mention his scenery challenge, but he’s got in first! Your windmill looks excellent, what are those “wooden” planks made from?it looks like balsa, but then it doesn’t.

    Cheers Roger.

    Liked by 2 people

    • borderguy190 June 24, 2020 / 10:17 am

      Thanks Roger, your advice was just the ticket. I think I’m ready for the Trials.

      I’ve sped up my WFB painting. Good enough is good enough. I’ll never get at anything else if I never finish the box ‘o shame.

      The wood is some craft wood from a craft store. Similar to popsicle sticks, but conveniently has squared ends! Harder than balsa, splits with little effort at times. No idea what species it is. I might still have the label. I attacked it with a blade and steel wire brush. Of course, I woefully underestimated how many pieces I would need so back to supply manufacture.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Mut June 25, 2020 / 12:32 pm

    The windmill looks superb. I can’t wait to see it finished and painted. How do you plan out making something like that?

    Liked by 2 people

    • borderguy190 June 25, 2020 / 1:49 pm

      Plan? Ha! You give me too much credit!

      The only thing I had as a plan was the idea to use a round paper/cardboard lidded box as the core. I knew I wanted a tapered wooded section from watching the Bard’s Craft video.

      The rest was trial and error. Lots of error’s!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Carrion Crow June 27, 2020 / 6:10 am

    Very cool, Harry. Looks like you’ve partially mastered the greenstuff, so we’ll expect great things from in future. And the windmill is off to a good start. Will you make a partially burnt top for when “the Creature” is chased by pitchfork wielding locals and hides there?

    Liked by 1 person

    • borderguy190 June 27, 2020 / 7:10 pm

      I had not planned on it, but now, I cannot see it any other way!

      Like

  5. angrypiper June 27, 2020 / 6:53 pm

    You’re quite productive, Harry! Can’t wait to see how Corky comes out, because I’m a huge Gold Monkey fan. I think we might have chatted about this before…
    Congratulations…my Empire army, long a dormant project, is now starting to make noise in my closet, no doubt thanks to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • borderguy190 June 27, 2020 / 7:06 pm

      Thanks mate! He is primed and waiting for a solid paint session. I loved that show when I was a kid.

      And sorry ’bout that. The little blighters do tend rile each other up, don’t they?

      Like

Leave a comment